The Western Islands


The Western Islands (as opposed to Scotland’s famous Western Isles) most notably comprise

The Aran Islands (Co. Galway)

The South Connemara Islands (Co. Galway)

Inishboffin & Inishark (Co. Galway)

Inishturk (Co. Galway officially)

Caher Island (Co. Mayo)

The Islands of Clew Bay (Co. Mayo)

Clare Island (Co. Mayo)

Achill Island (Co. Mayo)

and the Inishkea Archipelago (Co. Mayo)

Also included are the Islands of the River Shannon Estuary (especially Scattery Island) and Mutton Island (Co. Clare)

Other Connemara Islands include those off the Aughrus Peninsula such as Iomai / Iomaidh / Omey Island,  Claddaghduff, High Island, Friar’s Island, Cruagh, Inishturk (not to be confused with the larger offshore island to the north), and Turbot Island




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!