Co. Mayo's Peninsulas

(These pages are under construction)

Co. Mayo‘s indented Atlantic coastline and offshore islands, featuring majestic cliffs, rugged headlands, jagged stacks, rocky coves and scenic strands, are a joy awaiting those willing to leave the main thoroughfares to explore them.

County Mayo’s most notable peninsulas are:

The Corraun Peninsula and

The Erris Peninsulas (the Doohoma Peninsula, the Mullet, the Dún Chiortáin and Dún Chaocháin Peninsulas),

while most of the territory of the old Barony of Murrisk, comprising the land between Killary Harbour and Clew Bay, could also be regarded as a peninsula.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!