County Waterford

County Waterford (Contae Phort Láirge) (pop.108,000) is a  maritime county with a long southern coastline of alternating cliffs and sandy strands. Inland, the Comeragh and Monavullagh mountain ranges take up much of the central territory, with the Knockmealdown Mountains to the west. (More...)

County Waterford – ByRoutes & Special Pages:

ByRoute 1 takes in Waterford Harbour, Passage East, Crook, Woodstown, Knocknadirragh Hill, Belle Lake, Creadon Head, Killea; Dunmore East, Brownstone Head & Tramore Bay, Tramore; The Copper Coast, Dunhill & Annestown, Bunmahon & Stradally; Dungarvan Harbour, Dungarvan, the Ring Peninsula, Ardmore, Kinsalabeg, Youghal Bridge;

ByRoute 2 includes Portlaw, Curraghmore, Kilmacthomas, Mahon Bridge & Falls; Kilbrien & Knockboy, Modeligo / Cappagh; Cappoquin, Camphire; Tallow;

ByRoute 3 describes the Carrickbeg part of Carrick-on-Suir and then Power Country, Mothel & Clonea, Rathgormack, the Nire Valley; and Lismore, Ballyduff & Mocollop;

The pages on Waterford City & Environs contain information about Faithlegg & Cheekpoint and Kilmeaden.

The special Lower Blackwater Region section takes in Affane, Villierstown, Aglish, Clashmore and Rincrew, Templemichael, Ballnatray, Glendine, Kilcockan, Strancally, Knockanore.

The best way to explore the county is to combine elememts of these pages, using the scenic link roads indicated.

See also County Waterford – Accommodation & Amenities.


Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!