County Offaly

County Offaly (Contae Uibh Fhaili) (pop. 71,000), formerly King’s County, is mostly flat, with extensive bogs and grassland interspersed with woods, streams and small lakes. Scenic areas include the Slieve Bloom Mountains to the south, Croghan Hill, Bora Bog and stretches of the Grand Canal. The county contains several towns and villages of historical interest. (more …)

Co. Offaly – ByRoutes & Special Pages:

ByRoute 9 touches on Dunkerrin & Moneygall; 

ByRoute 10 goes through Clareen, Sharavogue & Shinrone;

 ByRoute 11 describes Clonbulloge, Clonsast, Geasehill & Cloneygowan;

ByRoute 12 takes in Edenderry, Toberdaly, Rhode; Old Croghan, Croghan, Daingean & Ballinagar, Killeigh, Killurin & Black Lion,Blue Ball, Mount Bolus & Ballyboy; Kilcormac, Broughal, Cloghan, Belmont; Moystown, Shannon Harbour, Banagher;

 ByRoute 13 describes

 Tullamore & Environs takes in Durrow, Lynally, Rahan.

See also County Offaly – Accommodation & Amenities


Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!