County Laois

County Laois (Contae Laoise) (pop 70,000), formerly Queen’s County,  has a predominantly agricultural economy, with four cows for every human. Although the bucolic landscape may appear mostly flat, the plains feature long, sloping rises interspersed with dales, woods, bogs, streams and waterways, notably the Rivers Barrow and Nore and the Grand Canal. The glens, forests and heather strewn hillsides in the Slieve Bloom Mountains are truly beautiful. Well-marked trails are available for walkers and those interested in equestrian activities. (More …)

County Laois – ByRoutes:

ByRoute 7 covers Sletty, Arles & Ballickmoyler,Wolfhill & Swan, Spink;

ByRoute 8 includes Ballyadams & Tankardstown, Ballylinan, Luggacurran; Timahoe, Ballinakill, Durrow & Cullahill, Donaghmore, Rathdowney & Errill;

ByRoute 9 takes in Vicarstown, Stradbally // Ballintubbert; Dunamase, Dysart, Portlaoise; Ballyroan, Abbeyleix; Ballycolla & Clough, Aghaboe, Boris-in-Ossory;

ByRoute 10 describes Portarlington, Emo & Coolbanagher; Mountmellick, Ballyfin; Mountrath, Castletown, Coolrain & Camross;

ByRoute 11 details Rosenallis & Clonaslee, Castlecuffe;

See also County Laois – Accommodation & Amenities


Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!