County Kilkenny

County Kilkenny (Contae Chill Chainnigh) (pop. 88,000),  is a very interesting area with a wide variety of natural and human heritage, including rivers and woodlands, hedgerows, hills, bogs and diverse geological features, archaeological sites, historic monasteries and churches, Round Towers, Norman castles, houses, gardens, villages and towns. (More…)

County Kilkenny – ByRoutes / Special Pages:

ByRoute 2 covers Rosbercon as part of New Ross (Co. Wexford) and then describes Mullinavat, Harristown, Owning & Templeorum, Piltown, Tybroughney & Fiddown;

ByRoute 3 includes Mountgarrett, Inistioge, Thomastown & Jerpoint, Knocktopher, Kilmaganny, Windgap & Killamery, Tullahaught & Kilkieran;

ByRoute 4 takes in Graiguenamanagh and then Ullard, Dungarvan & Tullaherin, Stonyford, Kells & Kilree, Callan;

ByRoute 5 includes Goresbridge & Gowran, Bennettsbridge, Kilmanagh;

ByRoute 6 covers Paulstown, Ballyfoyle, Tullaroan, Grange,

ByRoute 7 describes Clogh & Moneenroe, Castlecomer; Ballyragget, Jenkinstown, Freshford, Johnstown, Urlingford;

Kilkenny City & Environs takes in Lyrath and Talbotsinch;

The special section on the Castlecomer Plateau also mentions Bilboa and Moscow;

In addition, the Waterford City & Environs pages include Slieverue, Kilmacow, Licketstown and Mooncoin.

The best way to explore the county is to combine elements of all these pages. Scenic linking roads are highlighted where they occur.

See also County Kilkenny – Accommodation & Amenities.


Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!