County Kildare

County Kildare (Contae Chill Dara) (pop. 187,000) mainly comprises fertile grassland and bog, heavily encroached upon by DUBLIN’s suburbs and outlying commuter satellites. Many of the towns and villages are of historical interest, while rural / natural attractions include the flat Curragh plain, Pollardstown Fen, the Bog of Allen, and scenic stretches of the Grand Canal, the Royal Canal, and the Rivers Liffey, Barrow and Boyne. The county is the centre of Ireland’s equine industries, with three important racecources and numerous stud farms, several owned by prominent international breeders.(more...)

County Kildare – ByRoutes:

ByRoute 5 describes Kilteel, Rathsdown & Eadestown, Ballymore Eustace;

ByRoute 6 takes in Kill, Great Forenaghts, Punchedstown; Brannockstown & Harristown, Calverstown & Narraghmore; Crookstown & Ballitore; Timolin & Moone; Castledermot, Graney;

ByRoute 7 includes Johnstown; Kilcullen, Old Kilcullen, Burton Crossroads; Kilkea, Levitstown;

ByRoute 8 covers Naas; Killashee // Ballyshannon, Kilmead & Ardscull; Athy;

ByRoute 9 details Lyons Hill & Tipperstown, Ardclough & CastlewardenBaronrath, Whitechurch, Sherlockstown, Sallins, Caragh; Newbridge, the Curragh, Suncroft & Kilrush, Nurney, Kildangan;

ByRoute 10 goes through Hazelhatch & Celbridge; Straffan & Castledillon; Clane; Prosperous; Robertstown & Lowtown, Milltown; Kildare Town; Monasterevin;

ByRoute 11 describes Leixlip; Maynooth; Kilcock, Rathcoffey; Donadea // Timahoe, Coill Dubh & Allenwood; Lullymore, Rathangan;

ByRoute 12 touches on Johnstown Bridge, Moyvalley, Carbury, Kinnefad;

The best way to explore the county is to combine elements of all these ByRoutes. Scenic linking roads are highlighted where they occur.

See County Kildare – Accomodation & Amenities


Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!