County Kerry

County Kerry (Contae Chiarraí – origin disputed) (pop. 140,000), one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland, calls itself  “The Kingdom”.  The county has  remarkable  mountain landscapes and a heavily indented Atlantic coastline, noted for its scenic peninsulas and islands.  The Irish Gaelic language is still spoken in rural Gaeltacht areas, and old traditions of music, song, dance and storytelling are alive and well. (More ...)

County Kerry – ByRoutes and Special Pages:

ByRoute 1 takes in Kenmare Bay, Kenmare, Moll’s Gap, Gap of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killorglin; Dingle Bay & Castlemaine Harbour, Miltown, Castlemaine, Aughils, Camp; Ardfert, Ballyheigue Bay, Ballyheigue, Kerry Head; Ballyduff & Rattoo, Ballbunion, Beal; Ballylongford, Tarbert;

ByRoute 5 includes Rathmore,  Barraduff // Clonkeen, Loo Bridge, Morley’s Bridge, Kilgarvan.

ByRoute 6 describes Brosna, Knocknagoshel, Lyreacrompane, Castleisland, Scartaglin, Farranfore and terminates near Killarney.

ByRoute 7 details Listowel, Lixnaw, Kilflynn, Abbeydorney, Listillick, and terminates near Tralee & Environs.

Tralee & Environs includes Blennerville and Fenit.

Special sections describe Killarneythe northeastern (Tuosist) part of the Beara Peninsula, the Iveragh Peninsula, the Skelligs, the Dingle Peninsula, Valentia Island, and the Blasket Islands.

Parts of the county are also included in Muskerry, Duhallow & Sliabh Luachra.

See also County Kerry Accomodation & Amenities.

Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!