Dublin's 3 New Counties

The   Local Government Acts of 1993 and 2001 abolished Dublin Corporation and Dublin County Council, replacing the old County Dublin with the Dublin Region, comprising the area ruled by the new central Dublin City Council and three new counties.

The new County of Fingal (Contae Fhine Gall), takes its name from the Barony of Fingal, which

The new County of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown takes its name from the town of Dun Laoghaire (formerly aka Kingstown) and the Barony of Rathdown, which in turn was called after the Gaelic / pre-Norman Tuath ruled from the eponymous Ring Fort on the southern slopes of Bray Head.

The new County of South Dublin,

Amazingly, as of April 2012 there are still no maps available of the teritories covered by these three new counties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!