County Cork

County Cork (Contae Chorcaí), (pop. 482,000) enjoys a range of contrasting landscapes stretching from the fertile Golden Vale and bucolic east to the mountainous northwestern area and spectacular scenery of the southwestern coast, peninsulas and islands. Highlights include beautiful hills and valleys (including the sublime Gouganbarra),  ancient megaliths, monastic sites, churches, castles, stately homes and demesnes such as Blarney Castle & Gardens, Doneraile Court & Wildlife Park, Bantry House & Gardens, Fota House & Wildlife Park, and Annesgrove Gardens; pretty villages such as Castletownsend, Schull, Rosscarbery Ballydehob, Glengarriff or Castletown Beara, interesting towns like Mitchelstown, Fermoy, Mallow, Macroom, Youghal, Cobh, Kinsale, Clonakilty, Baltimore, Skibbereen, Mallow and Kanturk, plus of course Cork City itself. (More…)

County Cork – ByRoutes / Special Pages:

ByRoute 1 (Mainly coastal), taking in Youghal; Youghal Bay, Ballymacoda, Garryvoe, Shanagarry, Ballycotton, Roche’s Point; Whitegate & Rostellan, East Ferry & Ballinacurra, Midleton, Curragh Wood, Carrigtwohill; Passage West, Monkstown, Ringaskiddy, Carigaline, Crosshaven, Minane Bridge & Tracton, Nohavel, Belgooly & Oysterhaven; Kinsale, Kinsale Harbour,The Old Head of Kinsale, Ballinspittle & Garrettstown; Courtmacsherry Bay, Kilbrittain, Timoleague, Coutmacsherry, the Seven Heads Peninsula; Clonakilty Bay, Clonakilty; Galley Head & Roscarbery Bay, Rathbarry; Roscarbery; Glandore Harbour, Glandore, Leap, Union Hall; Castle Haven, Castletownshend, Toe Head, Tragumna, Lough Hyne; Roaringwater Bay & Baltimore Harbour, Baltimore; Skibbereen; Ballydehob, Durrus; Bantry Bay, Bantry, Ballylickey; and Glengarriff;

ByRoute 2, taking in Curraglass, Conna & Ballynoe, Coole & Castlelyons, Britway; Clonmult & Dungourney, Mount Uniacke & Killeagh; Castlemartyr, Ladysbridge; and Cloyne; 

ByRoute 3, covering Kilworth, Fermoy; Glanworth, Castletownroche, Killavullen & Annakissa; Mallow; Burnfort / Mourneabbey, Bweeng // Aghabullogue, Carrigadrohid, Coachford & Dripsey; Farran // Crossbarry; Inishannon; Bandon, Enniskeane & Ballineen; Dunmanway, Drimologue.

ByRoute 4, taking in Mitchelstown, Kildorrery; Doneraile, Kilcolman Bog; Buttevant, New Two-Pot-House, Castlemagner; Kanturk, Banteer, Nad & Lyre, Kilcorney, Rathcool; Millstreet, Kilmeedy, Carriganimmy, Clondrohid; Macroom, Bealick; Kilnamartyra, Ballyvourney & Ballymakeera, Coolea, Inchigeela; Gouganbarra, Keimaneigh Pass, Kealkill, Coomhulla Bridge.  

ByRoute 5, taking in Charleville, Churchtown, Liscarroll, Freemount; Newmarket, Boherbue & Kiskeam, Ballydesmond & Knacknagree;

 ByRoute 6 takes in Milford, Tullylease, Meelin & Rockchapel, in the northwest of the county. 

The pages on Cork City & Environs include:

There are also special pages on Muskerry, Duhallow & Sliabh LuachraCarbery’s 100 Isles, Sherkin Island, Cape Clear Island and Fastnet; the Southwestern Peninsulas, the Mizen Peninsula, Sheep’s Head Peninsula; the Beara Peninsula; Bere Island & Dursey Island.

The best way to explore the county is by mixing elements of these pages. Scenic linking roads are highlighted where they occur.

See also County Cork – Accommodation & Amenities

Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!