Ireland: Leaders

English Lords of Ireland and their Deputies


King Henry II of  England (d.1189) was declared by Pope Adrian IV as Lord of Ireland, a title acknowledged by religious and civil rulers of the country at the Synod of Cashel in 1171 and by the High King in the Treaty of Westminster.

Prince John  (fifth son of Henry II) was given th title Lord of Ireland by his father, and merged it with that of King of England on his (somewhat unexpected) accession to the throne in 1199.

King John (1199-1216)

King Henry III 1216-1272 (son of John)

King Edward I 1272-1307 (son of Henry III)

King Edward II 1307-1327 (son of Edward I)

King Edward III 1327-1377 (son of Edward II)

Houses of Lancaster &York

King Richard II 1377-1399 (grandson of Edward III, son of the Black Prince)

King Henry IV 1399-1413 (grandson of Edward III, son of John of Gaunt)

King Henry V 1413-1422 (son of Henry IV)

King Henry VI 1422-1461 (son of Henry V)

King Edward IV 1461-1483 (great grandson of Edmund of York, Edward III’s youngest son)

King Richard III 1483-1485 (uncle of Edward V)

The Tudors

King Henry VII 1485-1509 (grandson of Henry V, wife’s second husband)

King Henry VIII 1509-1547 (Henry VII’s second son), declaredby the Irish Parliament in 1136 as King of Ireland

 Monarchs of Ireland

King Henry VIII 1536-1547

King Edward VI 1547-1553 (Henry’s son by Jane Seymour)

Queen Mary I 1553-1558 (Henry’s daughter by Queen Catherine)

Queen Elizabeth I 1558-1603 (Henry’s daughter by Anne Boleyn)

The Stuarts

King James I 1603-1625 (James VI of Scotland, great-great-grandson of Henry VII)

King Charles I 1625-1649 (second son of James)

11 year gap due to Oliver Cromwell and the Revolution

King Charles II 1660-1685 (oldest son of Charles)

King James II 1685-1688 (brother of Charles II)

King William III (grandson of Charles I) and Queen Mary II (daughter of James II)
[William and Mary 1689-1694; William as William III to 1702]

Queen Anne 1702-1714 (sister of Mary)

House of Hanover

King George I 1714-1727 (great-grandson of James I)

King George II 1727-1760 (son of George I)

King George III 1760-1820 (grandson of George II)

King George IV 1820-1830 (son of George III)

King William IV 1830-1837 (brother of George IV)

Queen Victoria 1837-1901 (niece of William IV)

House of Saxe Coberg / Windsor

King Edward VII 1901-1910 (son of Victoria and Albert)

King George V 1910-1936 (second son of Edward VII)

King Edward VIII 1936 (son of George V)

King George VI 1936-1952 (second son of George V)

Queen Elizabeth II 1952 – (daughter of George VI)


Ireland and it's history, culture, travel, tourism and more!